Act no. 25 of 1982, published in Rajasthan gazette on 13-10-1982.

Act came into force with following aims and objectives:

  1. Planning, coordinating, and supervising, the orderly and rapid development of Jaipur region.
  2. To enable, the Jaipur development Authority to formulate and execute plans, projects and schemes for the development of Jaipur of Jaipur region.
  3. To create, proper housing, community facilities and civic amenities for the population of Jaipur Region, in perspective of 2001 A.D. or thereafter including the intermediate stages.

Jurisdiction of the act- act extends to Jaipur region area as specified in schedule -I (sec.1 of the act).

Sec. 2 of the act gives definitions, such as:

1. "Authority" means the Jaipur Development Authority constituted under section 3 of this act.

2. " Development area" means the area declared as such under sub-section (1) of section 29 and in which development is proposed to be undertaken within a reasonable period through schemes, projects or otherwise.

  1. "Jaipur Region" means the areas in the limits of the city, towns, and villages specified in schedule-I. The State government may amend by adding or deleting any area in the notification published in official gazette.

Composition of the Jaipur Development Authority

This body is a corporate body, which has following composition.


1. A Chairman, Chief Minister of the State

2. A Vice Chairman minister-in -charge of Urban Development of the state of Rajasthan.

3. Chief Secretary to the Government

4. Secretary, Revenue Department.

5. Secretary, finance Department.

6. Secretary, Urban Development and Housing Department.

7. Secretary, Medical and Public Health Department.

8. Secretary, Industries Department.

9. Secretary, Public Works Department.

10. Inspector General of Police.

11. Chief Town Planner and Architectural Advisor.

12. Chairman, Rajasthan Electricity Board.

13. Chairman, Rajasthan State Road Transport Corporation.

14. Chairman, Rajasthan State Industrial and Investment Corporation Limited.

15. Chairman, Rajasthan Housing Board

16. Chairman, Municipal Council, Jaipur.

17. Zila Pramukh of Zila Parishad, Jaipur.

18. All the chairmen of the Municipalities other than Municipal Council, Jaipur, having jurisdiction in the Jaipur region.

19. The General Manager, Western Railway

20. Representive of Ministry of Works and Housing, Government of India.

21. Vice- Chancellor, University of Rajasthan.

22. Sub-Area Commander (Army).

23. General Manager, Telecommunications, Rajasthan.

24. All the Pradhans of Panchayat Samities having jurisdiction wholly or partly in Jaipur Region.

25. All the members of Lok Sabha and Rajasthan Vidhan Sabha elected from constituencies falling in Jaipur region.


1.Jaipur development Commissioner, appointed by State govt.

2. Seven members to be nominated by the Chairman of the Authority.

Staff of the Authority

1. A Jaipur Development commissioner, appointed by the State Government under this Act.

2.Directors:(i) Director Engineering (ii) Director Town Planning (iii) Director Financing, appointed by State Government.

3. A Secretary of the Authority, appointed by State Government.

4. One or more Additional Commissioners or Secretaries, by state Government.

Meetings of the Authority

: -at least once in six months or whenever necessary. The quorum required will be laid down by regulations.

The executive committee:

- Under the Act, a chief executive body shall be there to bring the aims and objectives laid down by the authority into action and actual operation.

Composition of Executive Committee

- shall consist 15 members in all.

  • Chairman-Jaipur development commissioner, ex-officio chairman
  • Member Secretary-Secretary of the Authority, ex-officio member
  • Other members-13 other members
    • Chief Engineer, PWD, PHED, RSEB
    • Director, RIICO, ROADWAYS, RTDC
    • Director, Engineering, Town Planning, Finance of the Authority
    • Collector, Jaipur
    • Superintendent of Police, Jaipur
    • Commissioner, Municipal Corporation, Jaipur
    • Secretary, urban development and housing, Rajasthan.

Constitution of Other Committees

Authority may constitute various committees to perform various functions. The names, purposes and functions of such committees may be specified by the regulations.

Constitution of Functional Boards-

The State Govt. may constitute one or more functional boards on the advise of Authority by publishing in official Gazette. Each board should be of maximum 5 members. Some examples of such Boards are:

  • Traffic control board
  • Transport & communication board
  • Water resource Management Board, etc.

The main functions of Functional Boards:

  • Planning
  • Advisory
  • Implementation-mere advisory body by statute but can implement projects given to particular board specifically.

Functions and Powers of the Authority (chapter IV, Sec.16)

Main object of Authority:

- To secure the integrated development of the Jaipur Region.

  1. Planning

    • Preparation of master development plan and zonal development plans of Jaipur Region
    • Formulation and sanction of projects and schemes for the development of Jaipur Region or any part thereof
    • Execution of projects and schemes
    • To make recommendations for development of Jaipur region to State Govt.
    • Coordinating and supervision of projects and schemes
    • Preparing schemes and advising concerned authorities in formulating and undertaking schemes for development
    • Undertake housing activity in Jaipur Region
    • To prepare Master plan for traffic control and other activities.
  2. Implementation

    • Authority may take any action for implementation of the plan within the limits of the act. Although local authority i.e. municipalities and panchayats are responsible for removing the structures which contravene the Town planning schemes.
    • Power to hold and dispose of property
    • Power of making contracts
    • Removing obstructions and encroachments
    • Penalty for unauthorized development or use otherwise than in conformity with the plan.
    • Power to stop and to require removal of unauthorized development.
    • Power of authority to institute legal proceedings in court or before any statutory body or tribunal.
    • Constitution of tribunal- State govt. can constitute one-person tribunal for the purposes of this act.